Fractale | Media

by

OP/ED TV Size
View | Listen

“Down By The Salley Gardens” ED lyrics
Hitomi Azuma

Down by the salley gardens
my love and i did meet
she passed the salley gardens
with little snow white feet
  
she bid me take love easy
as the leaves grow on the tree
but i being young and foolish
with her did not agree
  
but i was young and foolish
and now i am full of tears

Source

The ED is actually one stanza of a William Butler Yeats poem.  He wrote poem after hearing an old woman singing a few lines of an old irish ballad called The Rambling Boys of Pleasure while visiting Ballisodare, Sligo (Ireland).   Source

 

Down by the Salley Gardens
Poem by William Butler Yeats

Down by the salley gardens my love and I did meet;
She passed the salley gardens with little snow-white feet.
She bid me take love easy, as the leaves grow on the tree;
But I, being young and foolish, with her did not agree.

In a field by the river my love and I did stand,
And on my leaning shoulder she placed her snow-white hand.
She bid me take life easy, as the grass grows on the weirs;
But I was young and foolish, and now am full of tears.

Source:  The Wanderings of Osirin and other Poems, 1889.

 

You Rambling Boys of Pleasure lyrics
Original Irish Ballad
 
You rambling boys of pleasure, give ear to those few line I write,
Although I’m a rover, and in roving I take great delight.
I set my mind on a handsome girl who oft times did me slight,
But my mind was never easy till my darling were in my sight.
 
It was down by Sally’s Garden one evening late I took my way.
‘Twas there I spied this pretty little girl, and those words to me sure she did say
She advised me to take love easy, as the leaves grew on the tree.
But I was young and foolish, with my darling could not agree.
 
The very next time I met my love, sure I thought her heart was mine,
But as the weather changes, my true love she changed her mind.
Cursed gold is the root of evil, oh it shines with a glittering hue,
Causes many the lad and lass to part, let theirs be ever so true.
 
Sure I wish I was in Dublin town, and my true love along with me.
With money to support us and keep us in good company.
With lots of liquor pleanitful, flowing bowls on every side,
Let fortune never daunt you, my love, we’re both young and the world is wide.
 
But there’s one thing more that grieves me sore is to be called a runaway
And to leave the spot I was born in, oh Cupid cannot set me free,
And to leave that darling girl I love, oh alas, what will I do?
Will I become a rover, sleep with the girl I never knew?
 
Source

Watch the irish ballad with slightly different lyrics.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

